Daniel Craig plays journalist Mikael Blomkvist who has just lost a humiliating and possibly career court battle.  Knowing that his time as a journalist is in trouble Blomkvist decides to take a job working for Henrik Vanger (Christopher Plummer) investigating the disappearance of Henrik’s neice while pretending to write his biography.  Lisbeth Salander (Rooney Mara), a possibly mentally unstable genius, is brought into assist him.  As the mystery begins to unravel we meet Vanger’s extended and strange family, learn about Lisbeth’s past and the struggles she endures, and eventually find out what really happened to the missing girl.

Sunshine’s Thoughts:  Before I tell you what I thought about this movie you should be given fair warning that this film contains two graphic rape scenes, and some pretty nasty torture.  If you can handle those things and keep them within the concept of the story then this will be a movie you will like.  Rooney Mara was a great choice for the odd, but enticing Lisbeth and she owns the movie.  I found myself not so much caring what Daniel Craig was up to unless he was working with Lisbeth.  The movie keeps a fast pace and never lost my interest.  Even having read the book and seen the Swedish version I was still wrapped up in the central mystery.  Overall I would give this movie a 4/5, but would recommend that you see the Swedish version as I feel it is the better of the two.


Elizabeth’s Thoughts:  I am a rare person that has not seen the original or seen the books.  I will say that it was very difficult to go into the film with a clean slate as I was tainted with people’s perceptions of the books that they read in their book clubs and the graphically shot of the original film.  I agree with Sunshine that some parts in the film were not for the faint of heart.  For a newbie to the Millennium series it was a strong story and was shot well.  I did feel like I was in the theater a long time but I also felt that way about War Horse.  I may have movie ADHD and crave 1 hour and 30 minute films.  If you have the heart for it go see it.  I give this film 3/5.

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

