This film is about a horse, a war horse and a friend horse!  It wouldn’t be a true movie year without a film involving a horse!  This film takes you on a life journey of Joey, a spectacular horse, and the many relationships he has with humans before, during and after the WWI.

Elizabeth’s Thoughts:

So what?  Yeah, I shed a few tears.  This film is a good War Horse film.  There is no other way to explain it.  The relationship between a man and a horse is very strong.  All of the parody jokes out there are spot on so it is hard to take the film too seriously with all of the jokes running through your head.  The much needed comic relief was the goose/ guard dog of the family farm.  Another plus is BBC’s Benedict Cumberbatch is in the movie for like 8 minutes!  I give this film 4/5 War Horses!

Sunshine’s Thoughts:

I enjoyed War Horse—until I realized it was not a movie about a murderous horse and was supposed to be a heart warming tear jerker.  This is a movie that plays purely on manipulating emotions and drawing as many tears from the viewer as it can–which is fine, but its just a little too manipulative for me.  Granted, I am cold hearted and don’t cry at movies, but really this movie felt like it was made purely to make someone cry.  With that being said, the movie was beautifully shot and moved along at nice pace so it was not boring which is always a good sign for a movie.  I left the movie knowing that Joey was in fact a murder horse that led to the death of all who touched him and I will maintain that stance until I die!  I give this film 3/5 War Horses.  (Also check out this hilarious illustrated review of War Horse)

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

