• Footloose(2011) is a remake of Footloose (1984).  The story is the same.  A town is devastated by the death of 5 high school seniors, which the preacher followed by the adults of the town blame on partying, dancing, drinking and music.  As an answer to the towns loss a curfew and about 9 laws are put in place to protect the children.

Elizabeth’s Thoughts:  This movie is not bad.  It’s not great, but it is not bad.  I suggest if you are going to see to also watch the original.  Some of the scenes will then make sense because it looks like they try to pay homage to a lot of the 1984 elements in the 2011 version of the movie.  If Uncle Wes looks familiar maybe you watch Sons of Anarchy or remember the coach from Blind Side.

Plus:

  • The music, they didn’t change too much of the old music except for destroying I need a Hero.  I almost didn’t recognize it when they played it in the movie.
  • Dancing.  This movie is more like another Step Up film for the youth instead of Footloose for the younger generation.  If I was dancing like that with a boy, law or not I am in trouble!
  • The Bug
  • Ren and Ariel’s prom outfits are like the original.

Minus:

  • Ren’s Yankee accent going in and out.  It got to its strongest point towards the end of the movie and by then I couldn’t understand what he was saying.
  • Bus race instead of tractor race.
  • No Kevin Bacon!  How cool would it be if he was the guy at the snack shack who looked up and said the Reverend was there.
  • Julianne Hough, why was she in this?

I give this movie 3/5 red cowboy boots.  Rent it or see it at the dollar movies.

Sunshine’s Thoughts: I really wanted to hate this remake, but I have to admit it was not half bad.  The kid playing Ren had this weird predator look and a horrible accent, and Juliann Hough had some crazy blue eyes that made her look like a corpse, but all in all not that bad.  The kid playing Willard had some hilarious lines and good dancing.  This was almost a complete scene for scene remake, other than there being no tractor chicken fight, the remake of I Need A Hero, and the addition of some new music and “current” dances.  The new dances were mostly grinding on poles, some crunking, and some intense line dancing.  Overall, I would recommend waiting for a matinee or DVD, I give it 3 out of 5 red cowboy boots.

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

