Rock-‘Em-Sock-‘Em Robots Real Steel stars Hugh Jackman as Charlie Kenton a down on his luck former human boxer/dead beat dad/current robot boxer.  He learns that the mother of his son, Max played by Dakota Goyo, (whom he has not seen in 11 years) has died.  He goes to court to sign over custody to the boys aunt but when he realizes her husband is wealthy and wants to spend the summer in Italy minus one small child, agrees to keep him for the summer for $100,000.  Max is not pleased but starts to warm up to the idea when he realizes his dad has is into robot boxing.  Through a series of unfortunate events, Charlie loses his prime robot (Noisy Boy) and Max finds a sparring robot (Atom) that he trains to fight.  Charlie and Max bond over the training and eventually take Atom to the main event, where they lose, but a loss in the ring translated into a win in their father/son relationship.

Sunshine’s Thoughts: Liz and I got to see this movie (and Hugh Jackman!) last night in an early preview set up by Variety of East Tennessee.  I’m not going to lie, we scored some free tickets (Thanks to Robbie with Regal!) otherwise I probably would not have went to a theater to see this movie.  Despite not wanting to see the movie, I was pleasantly surprised at how enjoyable it was.  Dakota Goyo as Max is so adorable, quite possibly the most adorable child actor ever.  Without Goyo this movie would have failed miserably.  The effects are pretty good, the robots are fun to watch fight, and Goyo had the best lines of the whole movie.  Jackman did a good job portraying a bad dad transitioning to a good dad.  There were some heart warming moments, but the movie was clearly trying to make them heartwarming and tug at your heartstrings.  Overall, not the best movie I have seen but the kids will love it.  I probably wouldn’t pay full price for this one, catch a matinee or wait for DVD.  I give it 3 out of 5 robot blows to the head.

Elizabeth’s Thoughts:

I was pleasantly surprised with this movie.  We all know that when the previews first started coming out that it was Hugh Jackman plus robots.  I was like rock’em sock’em?  Then they added the kid to the previews.  They should have gone with this the entire time because Max carries this movie.  I was also shocked at how invested I was in Atom and his robot fights.  I was confused about how far into the future we were in this movie.  I estimate about 2019 or 2020.  Charlie was a boxer in 2007 when humans still boxed.  Max was 11 and never saw his dad box and the years 2014 and 2016 are referenced.  If we are in 2020 then why did Charlie drive a gas-powered truck?  We are the flying machines I say!  I give this film 3/5.

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

