This was the farewell episode to the guys at 62 Truck!  I knew it was coming but I was so filled with emotion, sad, happy, and relief.

cliqueclack.com/tv

If you haven’t been watching all season it’s okay.  You can still watch the series finale.  Previously the guys walked into an arson deathtrap and didn’t leave in order to save to kids.  Last night finale started off with a bang.  Literally.  We see the explosion and then we see Lou in a mortuary to identify five bodies.  A quick flash to the funeral with families crying and Lou with a cane as he gave an amazing eulogy.  That’s right five minutes in and I’m crying.  Then we wake up as Tommy does because it wasn’t real.  Tommy, Sean, Black Shawn, Franco and Mike survived the explosion.  Tommy then thinks back on the night and we see where he found Lou… an incinerated Lou!  I wasn’t sure if I could make it for 80 minutes if this was how things were going to play out.  The rest of the episode deals with what each member of the team wants to do Franco to go on to be a Lieutenant, Black Shawn not being a fireman, Mike finding a “house,”Sean finding a new team and Tommy retiring.

The episode then lightens up when it comes to the Gavin family.  Tommy doesn’t fit to well into the real world doing “family things” because he is “super dad!”  We also see the guys driving to Lou’s memorial services where they would release his ashes.  Of course, dumb and dumber… I mean Sean and Mike open the box and the ashes go everywhere.  The guys try to substitute with cake mix!  This much needed comic relief helped ease the heavy parts of the episode.  At the memorial friends talked about their memories of Lou.  Even Maggie (O’Neal) and Uncle Teddy showed up.  Tommy read Lou’s letter and it was a heartfelt comedic relief in true Lou fashion.  Again my eyes began to water but I didn’t cry because it was kind of funny.  Per Lou’s request In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida was played on the bagpipes.

After the service Tommy, Janet, Colleen, Black Shawn and Katy are getting ready to order some pizza when Janet goes into labor.  Tommy is able to deliver his son, argue with Janet over the name and then pass out.  When he came to Janet decided to compromise and name their son Shea Gavin (Shea after his godfather Lou).  We then hear one last epic speech from Tommy to the new probiesat the Fire Academy before he hands them over to Lieutenant Franco.  As Tommy get’s in his truck he hears a familiar voice as he turns in true Tommy fashion there is Lou.

cliqueclack.com/tv

What a great way to end the series.  What a great episode.  If you watched it what are your thoughts?

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

3 responses »

  1. Heather Beaumont says:

    I have watched Rescue Me from the first episode and have never missed a show. I laughed until I cried when Mick asked Tommy what was up with Lou’s ashes. I love that Janet named the baby Shea Gavin and I cried when Lou appeared in Tommy’s truck. I know it is stupid to get attached to a show. But I did and I will miss the guys from 62 Truck always!!

    • Elizabeth says:

      I agree on the final episode. I watched seasons 1-4 and then the show slacked for me but I picked back up seasons 6 and 7. I will miss the guys too!

  2. BShillahhh says:

    I was crying my eyes out too!! It was sucha good episode, and I was sooo glad that Lou came back in the end as a ghost. He was too amazing not to come back.

Leave a Reply

