And no I’m not talking about the movie.  Netflix will start charging $15.98 for streaming and receiving one DVD via mail.  This is a 60% jump from the current price of $9.99.   Now there is a way to save money here, but this is where choice comes in, a user can now choose to either receive only one DVD at a time via mail for $7.99 a month or access to unlimited streaming for $7.99 a month.  I currently receive unlimited streaming and one DVD via mail.  This works out nicely for me at the old price of $9.99 was well worth the cost.  I don’t want to pay $15.98 to keep getting what I’m getting, but I also don’t want to have to choose between the two.  I love the streaming for its access to older shows (an entire run of Roseanne, Cosby, or He-Man) plus some off the beaten path movies that I probably wouldn’t watch otherwise (Good Dick, Sin Nombre, Pretty Persuasion).  But I also love the DVD via mail because most new movies are not available instantly and it usually takes months for a new movie to get to instant.

Now neither way is a perfect way to receive entertainment, instant lacks mainstream choices, via mail lacks instant gratification and when viewing TV shows via mail it can be a frustrating process getting one DVD with only a couple of episodes on it.  But combined the instant and mail options meet all my entertainment needs.  So now the question becomes to pay or not to pay?  The increase is absurd but I do enjoy the service, plus choosing one or the other just gives Netflix the idea that they are on the right path by essentially forcing the choice.  Those with current memberships have until September 1st to make their decisions, new users will have to make the choice and pay the price immediately.  What will you do, will you pay for the dual service, will you make the choice, or will you switch to another source for your entertainment?  If your switching what are you going to switch to?

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

