Bad Teacher stars Cameron Diaz as Elizabeth Halsey, Lucy Punch as Amy Squirrel, Jason Segal as Russell Gettis, Justin Timberlake as Scott Delacorte, and Phyllis Smith as Lynn Davies.  Elizabeth is a teacher, but in reality she is a gold digger looking for a good rich man to take care of her.  She is engaged and set to leave her job to marry her dream man, when his mom steps in and stops the marriage.  This forces Elizabeth back to work as a teacher.  She decides to just show movies and continue to look for a rich man.  That is until she realizes she can earn good money by getting the best test scores in the state.  Some good funny bits carry the movie through Elizabeths flirting with Scott and feuding with Amy.  Friends, Lynn and Russell provide excellent foils to Elizabeth’s normaly overpowering personality.  All of this carries us to a heart warming conclusion, but still manages to be just dirty enough to be a part of Bad Teacher.

Sunshine’s Thoughts: I enjoyed Bad Teacher, but it did lag more than I expected.  Timberlake, Punch, Segal, Smith, and Diaz deliver on the funny, but there is just something lacking that I cannot seem to put my finger on.  I want to place most of the blame on Diaz simply because this was a big shift in character for her.  However, Diaz took on the role with zeal and committed fully.  I think maybe as a whole the ultimate problem with the movie was Diaz finding love without seeking any kind of redemption. I would recommend checking out this movie, but probably wait for Netflix.  I give Bad Teacher 3 of 5 poisoned apples.

Elizabeth’s Thoughts:  I agree with Sunshine on this one.  It wasn’t bad but it wasn’t good either.  I love Jason Segal and he saved a few scenes for me.  Diaz reached out of her usual character but I hope that she goes back to doing what she does best.  You know, non-raunch films.  Quite frankly she is too old for it… visually.  I give Bad Teacher 2/ 5 poisoned apples.  Add it to your Netflix though.

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

One response »

  1. CMrok93 says:

    It does have some chuckles but there are just way too many punch lines that fall flat on their faces and not enough of Jason Segel’s effortless hilarity to balance out everything else that’s trying too hard. ‘Bad Teacher’ had the potential for greatness but ended up being pretty forgettable. Good Review! Check out mine when you can!

Leave a Reply

