Pirates 4 a.k.a On Stragner Tides  picks up with Gibbs (McNalley) on trial for being Jack Sparrow.  Lucky for him the judge is none other than Captain Jack Sparrow.  The escape plan didn’t go as expected or maybe it did.  You can never tell with good old Jack!  The real Jack Sparrow is caught and brough to King George (Griffiths) to help a newly reformed Barbossa (Rush) find the fountain of youth.  This does not sit well with Jack so he escapes.

Barbosa for King George and Jack Sparrow are not the only ones after the fountain of youth.  We meet Angelica Malon (Cruz) the daughter of Blackbeard (McShane) and The Spaniard (Jaenada) are on the hunt as well.  Each group had their own reasons.  King George for the fame, Jack for youth, Angelica to save her father and The Spaniard to destroy the fountain.

On this journey we find out that Barbossa accepted King George’s appointment only to get revenge on Blackbeard, who took the Black Pearl and his leg!  Toss in a priest named Philip (Claflin) a mermaid named Syrena (Berges-Frisbey) and call it another installment.  All ends well for most but not all.

Elizabeth’s Thoughts:

After watching 2 hours and 21 minutes of this film I found myself looking for scenes that could have been cut out.  If you are a Johnny Depp fan, which I am, this should get you through it but it was not the best Pirates film.  I was all for a doppelgänger Jack Sparrow until I realized this is how we would be introduced to Angelica’s character.  I didn’t understand why there was so much focus on Philip and Syrena if we didn’t get to see the mermaid kingdom and what happens to males when the mermaids take them deep into the water.  I wish the focus was more on Barbosa, the Black Pearl and Queen Anne’s Revenge.  That sounded more enticing than some of the other storylines.  The focus on Jack’s escapes were a little much.  If you don’t know by the fourth film how Jack gets in and out of sticky situations then watch films 1-3.  Between this film and Harry Potter my outlook on Disney’s The Little Mermaid is this.  It should be remade to show the true wrath and horror of mermaids.  I give this film 2 1/2 out of 5 Mermaid Tears.

Sunshine’s Thoughts:

I think I may be officially done with the Pirates franchise after seeing this film.  It wasn’t horrible, but it was painfully long and predictable.  It was definately not worth the money I paid to see it in theaters.  In fact, the most exciting part of this movie for me was knowing that I was sitting in a row of kid genius’ (its a Knoxville thing).  Anyway, the movie dragged on and on, to a point were Liz and I were saying the  actors lines for them—before they ever said them.  This is a big pass for me, catch it on TV and save yourself some money.  I give this 2 out of 5 Mermaid Tears.

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

2 responses »

  1. jzander says:

    Pirates of the Caribbean movies are awesome!!! I love Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow he is one of the most entertaining characters in the movies today.

  2. […] was the second disappointing sequel I saw this weekend (see our Pirate’s review to learn about the other).  Hangover II was esentially the Hangover only set in Thailand […]

Leave a Reply

