I HAVE THE POWER!!!

So most of the time you will read about how I hate re-makes and how the film industry should just digitally remaster movies and bring them back to theatres.  My mind changed the other day as I was watching Masters of the Universe (1987)! 

This is not the worlds greatest script and of course I was thinking to myself, why would you say that?  Why would you do that? But this is a classic.  As of fan of the He-Man cartoon it was great to see the hero and his villans come to life.  Dolph Lundgren was the man and was a perfect pick for are muscle-bound hero.  I also, had forgotten that a young Courtney Cox was in this movie.

Why should it be remade? 

  • The special effects and costuming was pretty good for being a 1980’s film.  I can only imagine what it could look like with today’s technology and make up artist. 
  • There are a lot of known and unknown actors who could bring to life He-Man, Skeletor and Evil-Lyn.  I want to see them in live action again!
  • The original left the door wide open for a sequel.  The threshold was never crossed so why not remake, or continue on with the story.
  • If Star Wars of the future looks low-tech compared to the past, why not? 

Do you agree or disagree with me on a new Masters of the Universe?  Who could be our He-Man and our Skeletor if this dream came true?

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

