Announced at Fox’s upfront this week was news that had me wondering if I was really reading what I was reading.  Apparently, Fox is giving Seth McFarlane a shot at remaking the Flintstones!  That’s right folks if anything in this world was screaming for a reboot it was the Flintstones (I hope my sarcasm is conveyed in that sentence!)!  For those of you who are not regular viewers of Fox’s Animation Domination Sundays, McFarlane is responsible for three of those shows, American Dad, Clevland Show, and Family Guy.  None of his shows are hitting on all cylinders, and some nights not even getting a spark of funny, but McFarlane keeps getting handed these ridiculous opportunities (Family Guy was resurrected after cancellation).  On this past Sundays Family Guy we got to watch the entire music video of Dancing in the Streets.  If that doesn’t scream lazy I don’t know what does, and that is why I really hate the thought of McFarlane getting his hands on The Flintstones.  I wouldn’t say it was a pop culture marker in my youth, but I did watch and enjoy the show growing up and just would hate to see it ruined.  What do you all think?

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

One response »

  1. 2blu2btru says:

    This is not a good idea! The Flintstones was a nice, family show with clean humor and jokes. Someone who writes American Dad, Family Guy, and The Cleveland Show doesn’t strike me as the right person to reboot the Flintstones franchise. I see ruination in the form of rauchiness and innuendo–a show clearly not as family friendly and not meant for children. I don’t get the whole “cartoons with adult themes geared to adults” thing in general. I’ve watched one or two (Family guy in the beginning,The Boondocks),but it usually doesn’t work. Fox is making all kinds of wrong decisions lately, though, so I’m not surprised.

Leave a Reply

