So as I was browsing my usual website haunts I came across this article on ew.com that listed 10 ways to save the movies.  Below are their choices.

  1. For every jumbo-size, CGI-filled, action-adventure extravaganza a studio greenlights, it should commit to one modestly budgeted drama or comedy.  Agreed.
  2. Don’t remake good movies; remake bad ones.  Yes, Yes, Yea a thousand times!  Maybe Sunshine and I should come up with suggestions on this?
  3. Stop killing us with your popcorn.  I love popcorn but I agree.  If I had more options I probably would take them.
  4. Treat 3-D like the good silverware:  only bring it out for truly special occasions.  Agreed.
  5. Embrace the on-demand button.  I guess, but sometimes it can be thrilling.
  6. Admit you’re jealous of TV- and start hiring its best writers.  Agreed.
  7. Before a film gets a green light, someone involved with the project- the director, the star, the boom-mic operator- has to believe it will be a good movie.  Agreed!
  8. Can the commercials.  Agreed.  This sometimes makes me not want to see a movie.
  9. No more than four screenwriters per script (unless the fifth one is Aaron Sorkin).  Agreed.
  10. Create separate screenings for schmucks.  Heck Yes!  I don’t know how many times me and Sunshine had to get gangsta on some schmucks.  I mean we pay for entertainment not oto go crazy on folks who need a smack down.

So, what do you think of the list?  Agree, disagree, somewhat agree?  Check out their site  to see what EW’s thoughts were on the 10 ways to save.

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

