For those of you who are not familiar with the Tyler Perry play, let me give you the rundown.

Shirley (Divine) is the matriarch of her family and has been keeping a few secrets.  Aunt Bam (Davis) went with her to the doctor to learn that her cancer was back and that she only had a few weeks to leave.  Shirley wanted to get her family together for a meal and till everyone the news together but every attempt failed miserably do to all of the arguing.  Shirley’s children included: Kimberly (Kane) who is married to Calvin (Mustafa) and they have a small son together.  Tammy (Desselle) is married to Harold (Perry) and they have two sons together.  Shirley’s youngest son Byron (Moss) has a baby with Renee (London) and is dating Sabrina (Taylor).  Shirley’s Aunt is Madea(Perry) and Madea of course has her brother Joe(Perry), her daughter Cora (Tamela Mann) and Cora’s father Brown (David Mann).

Okay, I think that is everyone.  The just of everyone’s storyline can get a bit much but here we go.

  • Kimberly and Calvin are on the verge of a divorce.  Kimberly has no respect for her family and cares nothing for her mother.  In the end we find out that Byron is not her brother but her son that she had at age 13.  Also, she was molested by an uncle at age 12.  In the end she realizes where her anger is coming from but it is too little to late.
  • Tammy and Harold are in a rocky ship as well.  With some encourgaing words from Madea, Harold is able to take up his role as the man of the relationship.
  • Byron is shocked that his mother kept the secret of not being his mother but before that he was in a constant struggle with his baby momma calling him a deadbeat and his girlfriend wanting him to go back to selling drugs.
  • Cora and Brown found out that they were not related through the Maury show.  The odd thing was in real life they are husband and wife so the Brown character asked to date her now that he is not her dad.  Weird.
  • Towards the end of the show Shirley passes without Kimberly being there.

Review:

The movie was okay.  The play is much better!  Of course, the storyline was changed a little to fit for the big screen but I just was not into this film the way I am the play.  Shout out to Shad keeping his movie career going.  If you don’t know who Shad is then you need to learn!  I hope to see more stronger roles for Shad Moss to come out this year.  The highlight of the film was the 1-800- choke-a-ho song.  Other than that I give this film 2/5 smacks upside the head.

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

2 responses »

  1. 2blu2btru says:

    I reviewed the play, but I haven’t seen the movie yet. When I saw the previews, I was a little disappointed, both with some of the casting, and with the fact this looked like every other Madea movie. When he did For Colored Girls, I saw some growth in his directing style and I was hoping he would build on that, especially since the play version showed growth from previous plays. I just don’t know what to do with him. I’m going to go see Jumping the Broom, though; perhaps they will do something different with the same old thing.

    • Elizabeth says:

      It is hard to figure out if Tyler Perry is going to hit or miss. With this one I say miss. I am interested in seeing Jumping the Broom so hopefully I will not be let down. I do have to say it is nice to see Loretta Divine making more apperances in films lately.

Leave a Reply

