Body of Proof premiered last night at 10 on ABC.  It stars Dana Delaney as Megan Hunt the abrassive, brilliant, yet soft hearted medical examiner/former neuro surgeon.  Like all great heroins Megan has a backstory that leads to her current life, in this case a car accident cost her the (steady) use of her hands and ended her neuro surgery career.  Luckily Megan is super smart and can become a medical examiner.  Also, luckily for the show, she is also good at finding evidence, interogation, and just all around being smarter than everyone.  No one in her office can make a move without having to ask for her help, the cops she works with a bumbling and are lucky to have Megan help them out.  Or at least that is the way things are portrayed in the pilot.

I have a read a lot of reviews saying if you like Dana Delaney you are going to like this show, well apparently I don’t like Dana Delaney.  This should be right up my alley, I am a fan of Bones, Castle, and at times House, and this show is the same basic premise: smart lead, slightly socially awkward, but a great person to have on your side.  However, Delaney just comes across as so judgemental, hateful, and abrassive that I just don’t care when she has sweet emotional moments (like when she tries to explain why she is buying her 12 year old daughter an $1100 purse).  Also, she seems to have to say “body of proof” in some way during the episode, its annoying.

So at this point, Body of Proof is a pass for me.  I may check in later to see if things improve.  In the meantime feel free to share your thoughts and agree or disagree with me.

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

2 responses »

  1. 2blu2btru says:

    Oh, I meant to watch this yesterday! Too bad I was buried under work 😦 I did catch up on Teen Mom 2, though. 🙂 Do you know if they are re-airing the pilot?

    I usually like these types of shows as well, and I am always up to give a new show a try. I even watched the two-hour premier of “The Cape”, so I’m sure this can’t be too much of a stretch.

    • Sunshine says:

      I don’t know if the pilot is re-airing, but the second episode is airing Sunday after Desperate Housewives. I think ABC is trying to see which the better leading in DWTS or DH. But, you can watch the pilot on their website http://abc.go.com/shows/body-of-proof or on Hulu if you prefer their player.

Leave a Reply

