So last night on American Idol the remaining 12 contestants picked their musical selection from their birth year.  I knew there was a lot of young contestants but when I heard their birth year, I was still kind of shocked at how old I was.  So, the 80’s is now considered retro?

Naima Adedapo(1984) sung Tina Turner’s “What’s Love Got To Do With It?”  She did the sped up version, was pitchy and she needs to watch herself tonight because she may end up on the bottom or off the show.

Paul McDonald(1984) is a personal favorite who sung Elton John’s “I guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues.”  This was a perfect song for Paul and even though he was sick he still was one of the better performances of the night.

Thia Megia (1995) sung “Colors of the Wind” by Vanessa Williams.  Really, really Thia that is who you are.  I was in middle school in 1995 so there was a plethora of good songs for her voice that she could have chosen.  Goodbye Thia.  You have made poor song choices the whole season!

James Durbin (1989) I love this guy!  He song Bon Jovi, “I’ll Be There For You,” and owned it.  He can do no wrong in my eyes.

Haley Reinhart (1990) sung Whitney Houston’s “I’m your Baby Tonight.”  Horrible!

Stefano Langone (1989) sung Choosing Simply Red’s “If You Don’t KNow Me By Now.”  It lacked real emotion so he is at the bottom for me.

Pia Toscano (1988) sung Whitney Houston’s “Where Do Broken Hearts Go.”  She did the party version and it was great.  She is wone of my favorite female contestants on the show.  Who ever is doing costuming picked a great outfit for her because she looked like a great performer.

Scotty McCreery (1993) sung Travis Tritt’s “Can I Trust You With My Heart.”  He is really representing for the Country Music Genre.  If only we could get him to hold the microphone in a non-awkward way.

Karen Rodrigez (1989) sung Taylor Dayne’s ” Love Will Lead You Back.”  Taylor Dane has a powerful voice and sings the heck out of this song.  Sorry Karen your voice was just not strong enough.  I think the show is taking a toll on her.

Casey Abrams (1991)  This is my dude!  I love this guy!  He sung Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit.”  I was amazed.  He had a great voice, crazy eyes and he rocked the guitar!  He can do no wrong. 

Lauren Aliana (1993) was sick with the flu but managed to rock the house singing Melissa Etheridge’s “I’m The Only One.”  I think being sick helped her put some edge in the song.  Way to go Lauren!

Jacob Lusk (1987) is the man!  Every time, every time he kills it.  He could have taken the easy route but he went out on a limb and smashed Heart’s “Alone.”  I mean he killed it.

I still think this year’s idol will be a male.  What are your thoughts? 

After watching the show last night I started to think about what song I would choose from my birth year.  It is hard because generally when you think of classics you think of the decade you grew up in as an adolescent and teen( which would be the late 80’s 90’s for me).  So I went to this cool website that shows you the top 10 songs of your birth year.  If I was on American Idol I would have chosen, “I Love Rock “n” Roll” By Joan Jett & the Blackhearts.  What year where you born and what song would you chose?

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

