Anne Hathaway and James Franco are taking some hard hits this morning for their hosting gig at the oscars, like this, this, and this.  But I gotta ask, was it really that bad?  I found Hathaway charming, funny and bright and Franco was exactly what I expected him to be–James Franco.  The eyebrow lifts, the monotone voice, the laughing at his own jokes, people who hated him must have never seen him in anything else.  This is James Franco and Anne Hathaway doing what they do.  Yeah somethings fell flat, the drag/Charlie Sheen joke was to on point and unneeded, but the musical number preceeding it was great.  It seems that pandering to a younger demographic—and admitting it—really didn’t set well with some viewers, but  I liked it. 

Yeah Justin Timberlake using an “app” to start the movie was lame, but what use of “there’s an app for that” isn’t.  I even heard a local radio station this morning complain because Justin Timberlake said he was Banksy, the DJ said he didn’t know who Banksy was so that made the joke lame.  Well, I guess every joke is lame if you have no idea what people are talking about, but if you had paid one iota of attention to the lead up to the Oscars you would know there was some controversy surrounding the always secretive Banksy showing up and possibly revealing his identity (or worse wearing a mask, gasp!).

A lot of complaining was made about Anne Hathaway’s “cheerleader” persona and all the “wooing”, but seriously have you ever seen Anne Hathaway before?  She’s adorable, this is what she does, sure she was probably over compensating for poor writing, but at least she tried. 

It seems like every post Oscar ends the same way, reviewers hate the hosts and hate the writers and dream of those long gone yester-years when hosts were good and men were men.  However, they probably complained about those years too.  Change has to happen and I commend the Oscars for giving it a shot and taking a chance on two people who had they had better writing support would have killed.

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

2 responses »

  1. Brandi B says:

    No, it was not that bad; I agree. However, I am very biased – I am a huge fan of James Franco!! I think he’s hilarious and charming…His smile alone makes me laugh. I’ve seen him in other stuff though, so as you point out, maybe some people are unfamiliar with him and couldn’t get his vibe.
    Anyway, it was not that bad. What did everyone want them to do? Engage in a full-blown circus act, have spot on stand up routines, or hang from the ceiling maybe? What would people have changed? It bums me out for Franco (and Anne) that people are so mean toward them… why don’t haters get up there and try to take on such a major responsibility. It’s a huge risk and you have to give them props for trying.

Leave a Reply

