In a year with a pretty decent Super Bowl game (Congrats Green Bay)  I don’t guess it should be suprising that the commercials were fairly weak.  Despite the weaknesses, there were a few commercials that stood out to me:

Best of Night/Most Heart Warming: Maybe it’s cause I went to a Star Wars night hockey game the day before, or maybe I’ve just always embraced the dark side just a little, but VW’s little Darth commerical was adorable and frankly the best of the night.  I don’t think they came close to the best i’ve ever seen, but in a night of lameness it was a breath of fresh air.

Lamest of the Night/Slightly Disturbing: Dorito’s overall had the worst commercials of the night.  It was refreshing last year when they let fans make commericals, this year it just came across as lazy when all the commericals were fan made.  And to top it all off not even that well made, but the one that was seared into my brain due to its slightly disturbing qualities was the Dorito’s finger licking commercial, one word: YUCK!

Best Use of Eminem: Neither Eminem commercial was earth shattering or insanely funny but I enjoyed both.  The first from Liptom was a claymation Eminem explaining how it works when he does commericals, it was a nice recognition by Eminem that he is kind a douche and I would drink something called ” Eminem, shut up and drink it”.  The second was a shout out to American Made cars and Detroit, not amazing but simple and sometimes that’s nice.  Of the two, the Lipton commercial was by far the best use of Eminem.

Need to get a new idea: Snickers, poor poor Snickers.  I don’t think that they realized there “being hungry  makes you different” commericals were fun last year because it was a new and refreshing idea.  Doing it a second time this year, just with different people was just lame.  Here’s hoping Snickers works harder next year.

Best Movie Trailer: I’m going to have to go with Captain America on this one, simply because we finally got to see some more of the Captain America outfit in action, a shirtless Chris Evans, and a glimpse of Red Skull–truly impressive.  It made me excited for the movie and i’m betting took some people off the fence on whether or not they felt this movie would work.  Runner up goes to Five Fast Five Furious  I mean Fast Five.  Simply because Fast and Furious is my favorite cheesy car movie series and The Rock with facial hair is simply hot.

There were a ton of other commericals, but these are the ones that stood out to me.  So share your thoughts, agree or disagree with me, and let me know what your top commerical is.

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

