Tron: Legacy picks up 20 years in the future (the math will seem a little fuzzy to you as we now Sam Flynn is now 27, yet in flashbacks to the day his dad disappears he looks about 12, but anyway) after Kevin Flynn (Jeff Bridges) has been trapped in the Grid.  Sam Flynn (Garrett Hedlund), his son, is fighting to not be in charge of his software company Encom, and just living a basic bad-ass life.  Kevin’s lifelong friend and business partner Alan (Bruce Boxleitner) recieves a mysterious page from Kevin’s old office.  Sam goes to check it out and is sucked into the Grid.  He meets Clu (also Jeff Bridges with a young face pasted on) who he assumes is his dad, but quickly learns is just a copy of his dad who has gone rouge and taken over the Grid.  During an impressive battle, visuals are amazing in this movie, Sam is saved by Quorra (Olivia Wilde) and taken back to his real father.  Turns out that he has been living in exile for years and doing nothing, as his fighting seems to only strengthen Clu.  The movie slows a bit here as the movie attempts to rebuild the estranged relationship between Sam and Kevin.  The intended emotions are clear, but it does drag down the movie some.  As we bounce back the final battle the pace picks up and the movie manages to go out on a strong note.

Sunshine’s Thoughts:

Tron is a visually impressive movie.  I saw it in 3D but I really feel like the visuals would have been just as impressive in 2D (not to mention cheaper).  The 3D seemed to only serve to sharpen the images, not enhance them.  The story itself in Tron is second fiddle to the visuals, and that was what I expected.  I was impressed overall with the movie, it ran a little long but was a good way to spend an evening.  I give it 4/5 Light Runners.

Elizabeth’s Thoughts

Loved, loved, loved it!  Garrett Hedlund brought the emotion with Sam but it seemed a little out-of-place considering the story was not as strong as the visuals.  I think that I would not have been as into the picture in 2D.  I guess I will have to see it in 2D to make sure. Ha,ha.  I love the strut that Sam Flynn has once he is in the Grid.  Old fans will like this film and newcomers can feel welcomed.  I say check it out during this holiday season.  I am agreeing with Sunshine on this one and giving it 4/5 Light Runners!

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

2 responses »

  1. moviegeek says:

    I really wanted to like Tron legacy… but I was so disappointed in the end
    Check out what I thought on my blog http://moviegeekblog.wordpress.com/
    Ciao

Leave a Reply

