So last night a good courtroom dramedy was on and it is called Defenders.  It has the formula.  Interesting case and the battle of wits in the court room.  The storyline that has been set up outside the courtroom is also interesting.  Defenders follows two lawyers in Las Vegas, Nick Morelli (Belushi) and Pete Kaczmarek (O’Connell).  They even have a new lawyer to the firm, Lisa Tyler (Smollett).  When I saw here I thought what FNL!  Nick is a married but separated father who will go to the extreme for his clients.  He is also the leader in this dynamic duo.  Pete is a young playboy who loves working for the good of the client.  When the show first opened with him I thought I was watching Las Vegas.  Remember that show?  Lisa, is new and wet behind the ears but I think she will learn a lot from these guys.  I did feel that her character was left out of the personal, after the courtroom stories.  Maybe she will get a back story.  Last nights there were two cases.  The big case involved a man defending his brother but “accidentally” shot one of the “attackers.”  The smaller case was a teenager who robbed his local drug dealer.  It was a team effort to get a not guilty verdict all around for the big case.  With a little Pete magic with the prosecutor, the teenager received a lesser charge.  The pilot episode packed enough punch to keep me watching.  What did you think?

ubethecritic.com

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

