I watched The Lovely Bones this weekend and I liked the film.  When it was over of course I was totally creeped out and a little dissatisfied but the film was excellent.  Peter Jackson did an excellent job in directing, the shots were different and colorful and it was an all-in- all good movie watching experience.

This film is about a girl, Susie Salmon, who is murdered and stuck in the “in -between” because she is not ready to let go of her life yet.  Her murder is a neighbor from down the street named George Harvey.  I have to give it up to Stanley Tucci for this role.  He thouroghly creeped me out and I hope young people who watched this film got the message about being aware of the surroundings and not going into undergound rooms.  We find out that Mr. Harvey has been killing women and young girls for years.  If you watch the film carefully you see early on what his fate will be.  I will give you a hint.  Watch out for icecycles!

I am always impressed by Mark Wahlberg and his role choices.  He plays Susie’s relentless father Jack Salmon.  He never gives up trying to find Susie and her killer.  Two characters I wish they had done more with is Susan Sarandon’s Grandma Lynn and Rachel Weisz as Abigal Salmon.  I felt like we missed the mark on their roles in the movie.  Grandma Lynn gave some sort of comedic relief that I didn’t need.  I wanted to stick to the main story.

Towards the end of the movie Susie let’s go of her family and they move forward happily and together.  She also receives her kiss from Ray, played by Reece Ritchie.  I felt this played a big part in why she was stuck not just because she didn’t want to leave her family.  I wonder what would have happened if Susie’s sister, played by Rose Mclever, had not snuck into the killer’s house.  Would Harvey have stayed in town hunting young people?  Would Susie’s body have been found?  Who knows, but this is a definite watch.  I give this movie 4/5 stars.

Oh yeah, we get to see Jake Able in this movie for those of you who want to see the future Luke from the upcoming Percy Jackson Film.

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

One response »

  1. Sunshine says:

    Lovely Bones was very good. I really hated how things ended up for the killer. I won’t spoil it for everyone who hasn’t seen it, but it just didn’t seem like a very satisfying end for me. I actually enjoyed Susan Sarandon as the grandma I felt like she added a nice contrast to all the stress and drama in the movie. It also was a good way to show that fine line between maintaining a normal life and mourning for your loved one. I was curious to see if the killer had tried to take Susie’s sister how that would have ended, I think she would have taken out the killer!

Leave a Reply

