So I finally saw Precious this weekend.  This film follows a 16-year-old girl who is pregnant with her 2nd child and is still in Jr. highschool during the 1980’s named Precious, played by Gabourey “Gabby” Sidbe.  She is sent to an alternative school by a counselor after being kicked out of her school for being pregnant.  We get to see Mo’Nique play the role of Precious’ mother, Mary.  She really played this role.  It was hard for me to see the extent of the abuse Precious experienced throughout this film from her mother.  If you do not like cussing don’t see this film because there is a lot.  Of course, I cried because that is what I do in films apparently. 

Likes:  I liked how they showed her coping mechanism which was the different dream sequences Precious has to make it through each day.  Also, how her teacher and classmates at the alternative school became a support system.

Dislikes:  Mariah Carey as the social worker.  Not that Mariah did a bad job but the way she allowed the costume, hair and make-up create her character.  As a social worker I don’t care what decade it is.  We do not all look like the stereotype that was portrayed in this film!

As far as awards, I am not sure where this film will stand.  I feel like having an unknown portray the main character was the best idea.  For me it was like watching the kid who played Biggie in Notorious.  I loved it and thought it was well-played.  Mo’Nique should get a nomination for the gritty role she portrayed and the emotion of a mother who has lost it all in the end.  She was pretty phenomenal.  This was a hard film to watch because it was so real.  I give it 3/5 stars.

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

2 responses »

  1. Hey, Just wanted to let you know that your site isn’t loading properly on my iPhone. Do you know if there’s some setting I need to use to make it show properly? Everything is out of line.

Leave a Reply

