E:  This film was probably the first drama I have seen all year as I think back.  If you have not seen the previews it is about two brothers, one who is in the Marines the other who is recently out of jail.  Capt. Sam Cahill is taken hostage during his second tour in Afghanistan while his family thinks he is dead from a helicopter crash.  Without giving too much away, the rest of the film is watching his brother Tommy, his wife Grace and the rest of his family cope with their loss.  We get to see, what I thought was a rough scene, of what Sam went through in order to get back to his family.  Once he returns we then see how the family copes with Sam’s trauma and how the love of his brother and his wife saves his life in the end.  Even though I knew some things that would happen the film really pulled on my heart-strings and I teared up maybe three times.  I give this 4/5 stars and I highly recommend this film if you are looking for a good drama dealing with family.

S: I have been severly lacking in the drama department this year too and this was a great way to break that dry spell.  Great acting by Jake Gyllenhaal and Toby Maguire.  It was a moving story and did a great job of brining out pure raw emotions.  At times a little predictable but still good.  I give it 3/5 stars.

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

