Ninja Assassin is the film that everyone will regret not seeing in theater.  Well, except for me and Sunshine because we saw it last night and will probably see it again.  At first I didn’t know what I was watching, because the killing surpassed films such as Sin City.  Blood and guts galore so I do not recommend for the young minded or weak stomach viewers.  Maybe we will get into a routine New Moon, Ninja Assassin, New Moon, Ninja Assassin. 

Well anyway, this film follows a ninja named Raizo, played by Rain, who grew up an orphan trained by the Ozunu Clan.  There are nine clans who train orphans from the age of 10 to be assassins for the price of 100 pounds.  The clans have been around for centuries doing this and the glorified librarian, Mika, played by Naomie Harris, has figured everything out.  On a quest to make these killers be accountable for recent murders she teams up with Europol Investigator, Maslow, played by Ben Miles to figure out why the government is so involved with covering up the existence of ninja assassins.  I won’t spoil anything for you but just know if you have ever been paranoid about triple agents (and who hasn’t)  this movie has plenty of that going on!

In this film you spend a good part in flashbacks to find out why Raizo left his clan and is being hunted by his “brothers”.  A great way to to tie the whole story together and it flowed well which is hard to do in movies where you are esentially telling two stories.  This is a definite must see for the year.

Likes

E:  Rain was excellent and I hope to see more of him.  The fight sequence between the ninja’s and Raizo in the warehouse and in Mika’s apartment.  Also, the epic battle between Raizo and Ozunu, his “father”.  The crazy healing effect that his clan has is pretty cool as well.

S:  RAIN, RAIN, RAIN!  That boy is amazing and he has a lot of potential for crossover to America.  Some of you may know him because he is Steven Colberts arch nemesis.  He is also on tap to play Bruce Lee in a remake of Enter the Dragon.  All the fighting was top notch and the special effects were amazing.  Made me want to be a ninja.

Dislikes

 E:   This movie was great but I definitely had some moments were I felt, oh this is typical.  I still had a great movie experience and cannot wait to see the film again.

S:  SPOILER ALERT: The potential love interest, which thank god did not happen but still had me cringing in my seat hoping it wouldn’t happen. 

 Elizabeth is going to give the film 5/5 ninja throwing stars.   OMG, did I just give this more stars than New Moon.This was a good story, excellent fight scenes and the best fake blood I have seen in a while.  As far as martial arts/ ninjas in my apartment this film is number one this year and probably years to come (Karate Kid with Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan, who will ruin a classic!).  Oh and did I mention it stars the Korean R&B sensation RAIN!!!

Sunshine is going to give the film 5/5 ninja throwing stars. This will be a movie that I watch over and over again just because it is such a straight up ninja movie and it has been a while since I have seen one of those.  I do want to say though that this is a 5/5 in its genre…..compared to other movies I couldn’t give it that, but with no comparison 5/5!

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

