We apologize for not having this post up immediately.  We are both suffering from fatigue from the midnight showing mixed with an early morning day at work!  Let me start off by telling you about me and Sunshine’s movie experience. 

Wednesday:  I text Sunshine that I am nervous about showing up at 10pm for the movie.  She agrees and we plan to go at 9pm instead.

Thursday:  I am so excited I can’t eat or take a nap!  It was a pretty fast day at work!  Sunshine and I meet up and grab a coffee before going to the theater, which takes about 7 minutes.  When we walk in there is already four lines of fans who have been there since 7pm for the midnight showing of New Moon!  We hurry to get in line and talk with our friends (staff at Riveria Regal) about the process for the night.  Let me tell you standing in line was okay, because there was a hot cop in a fitted short sleeve shirt ( 34 degrees outside) and a young Johnny Depp named John who was an usher.  So, it was okay for us to wait in line for an hour and a half!  The chaos happened at 10:20pm when they let all the lines for all auditoriums but one ( was playing Twilight still) race to their auditorium and have an usher make sure they were at the right one.  Sunshine and I were the first ones in our theater so we had awesome seats! 

Now to the film:  We know that most everyone knows the storyline: Bella has a birthday, Edward leaves, Jacob and Bella grow close, Edward thinks Bella is dead and goes to the Volturi to end his life, Bella saves Edward, Jacob makes a line and then the best way to end it is with an engagement!  So we are going to give you our likes and dislikes.

Likes

E:   I liked Jacob and the rest of the wolf pack minus Sam.  Charlie was loveable as always and Jessica had the best human dialogue in the whole film.  I have to say I like Jacob in the film and Edward in the book after seeing this.  The CGI was decent on the wolves and they were the right size too!  Jasper looking crazy and blood thirsty as usual.  I loved the ending when Edward gives his condition on turning Bella- ” Marry Me!” and then Bella looks concerned and breathes heavy. Roll Credits!  This was great.  I can’t wait for Eclipse, because that is my favorite book and we get Jasper’s back story!

S:   I loved Jacob and the Wolf Pack.  They added some great humor and the best fight scenes of the whole movie.  I really loved seeing Jacob minus that stupid wig.  It definately didn’t hurt that the wolf pack boys are crazily hot.

Dislikes

 E:   I did not like Sam Uley.  I enjoyed this film way more than I did the first film so I am really trying to think of things I didn’t like.  I didn’t like in the film or the book how Bella used Jacob and left him in the end after using him all up.  I really was upset about Jasper’s hair!  It could have been better.  I was shocked at the lack of humans, Cullens and Volturi, but it is a 2 hour and 10 minute movie.

S:   The special effects.  The sparkle was still cheesy and the cliff diving was so obviously computerized it made me want to laugh.  The wolfs were pretty good but still a little shaky looking.  Also, the movie rushed through the Volturi and reunion scenes of the movie.

 Elizabeth is going to give the film 4/5 stars.  It was such a major step up from Twilight.  Thank you Chris Weitz for your directing and shooting style.  Thank you Melissa Rosenberg for stepping it up a little with the script.  The thing that keeps this film at a four is I love the books and I enjoy the films.  It doesn’t get a 5/5 from me because sometimes the dialogue did not flow well and the film sped up for the return of vampires in the film (travel to Volterra) and I felt rushed through the end of the film.  I did think the way they ended the film was awesome!

Sunshine is going to give the film 4/5.  I liked this movie more than the 1st.  The dialouge was better and everyone seemed to loosen up a lot more.  The movie flew by and did not feel like 2 hours of movie.  Even Kristin Stewart (who I am not a fan of) did a better job controlling her heavy breathing and stupid scared stutter.  I will see this movie several more times in the theater and will definately own it on DVD.

About Elizabeth

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in East Tennessee. I love to watch, talk and write about all things popculture. Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

