Taylor Kitsch stars as John Carter our space/time traveling former soldier.  During a search for a legendary cave of gold and on the run from Indians and the army; John Carter stumbles upon a man who has a device that takes him to Mars.  After killing the man, John accidentally sends himself back and is confronted with a alien race he cannot understand, the ability to leap tall buildings in a single bound, and a princess who desperately needs his help.

Sunshine’s Thoughts: I was indifferent about John Carter, mostly because Disney did a really bad job of explaining what this movie was about.  I took my own time to look up the plot of this story and knew I was interested but the previews were just not showing the excitement I knew would come from the source material.  Luckily, I overlooked that indifference and went to see this movie.  It was excellent!  A fun mix of sci-fi, comedy, and romance John Carter gets everything right.  The battles are exciting, the effects are on point, and the aliens seem like they are really there.  I mean when you bring personality to a silent lizard/dog named Woola then you know the guys making the movie are doing something right.  This is a definite must see.  I give this 5/5 slobbering lizard/dogs.

Elizabeth’s Thoughts:  As a fan of sci-fi, I was on board from the beginning and it didn’t hurt that Taylor Kitsch was playing our hero John Carter.  For an added nice touch the scene music sounded like it came from Prince of Persia, way to go Disney!  If you haven’t seen the film yet it is based off of the Edgar Rice Burroughs book The Princess of Mars (1912) so in the end it truly is a love story.  So do not be jaded by this.  The action was there, the aliens looked cool and the characters where likable.  It is way better than the SyFy version staring Traci Lordes and Antonio Sabato Jr.  THis movie is well worth seeing it in a theater just not in 3D!  I give this film 4/5.

About Sunshine

I am the co-creator of S and E Pop Culture. I currently live and work in Knoxville, TN. I love all things TV and Movies and love to discuss them with anyone who wants to talk! Check out the blog sepopculture.wordpress.com and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

